Friday, June 22, 2012

Lack of posts does not mean lack of effort...

Hey y'all...super busy this week. Still sticking to my diet!

Took my sister to her lipo yesterday...there goes 11 hrs. of my life I'll never get back.

Had to be there at 5:30am, her surgery wasn't til 7:30am, she was under the knife....or, vacuum, until 10:00am, in post op til 11:00am, and finally got to leave around 4:30pm. Wow, what a day.

She's sore but doing well.

It's funny...now that I'm 2 solid weeks into the program, and I'm having to eat foods that aren't my first choice, it's less awesome.

I had the mac n cheese yesterday...you add the water, microwave, and eat...well first off, it flooded my microwave (which was my own fault for not putting something under it), half the noodles weren't fully cooked, and it tasted just blahhhh.

I had the ravioli for dinner and it was really good! Still love the bagels (with peanut butter! Love those add ins!). I had the meatball frozen sandwich thing today for lunch. It was pretty tasty!

I think from now on I'm only gonna order the coffee protein drinks. It's BY FAR my favorite. I could drink em all day, every day!

Gotta tell on myself, I've been adding some hot sauce here and there to some of the more bland tasting meals. I'm just a heat freak, okay?! I love my hot sauce! mmmmmmmmmmm!

I'm weird. Sue me.

My interview went well today!!!! Plus we passed out quarterly evaluation so I'm getting a pretty niiiice bonus! Florida, here we come! :)

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Catchy title

I was excited that I found another breakfast burrito in the freezer. My favorite breakfast!

Last night I had the thick crust pizza and a 1/2 cup of potatoes. Lunch I had the beef, bean and cheese burrito. I guess I'm on a burrito kick, huh?

For desert, I attempted to have the chocolate (frozen) cheesecake. Well, I thought it would be a good idea to defrost it in the microwave so I could eat it sooner. I don't know if it was because I heated it or what, but it was awful. I didn't get more than a few bites in. Gross.

One more day in hell before I have a day off. It won't be that enjoyable...I'm taking my sister to have liposuction at 6am. Geezeee...She says she's sick of her stomach and can't get it off. She is a super talented athlete, but I suggested she try nutrisystem like me. She said she'll definitely do it...after she recovers from the surgery.

I just don't get it. That's an expensive and serious surgery. Plus, she's getting me out of bed at the ass-crack of dawn. Of course, I'll support her no matter what. I just feel like she's taking the easy way out. I should mention that my sister is about 17 years older than me, so she's not some 20-something doing this on a whim. I'm still not crazy about the idea.

All this water is driving me nuts. All I've drank in the last 2 weeks is water and coffee.... Oh wait...scratch that.... I had milo's tea (sweetened with splenda) on father's day. I also had an old forester and sprite zero. Sue me ;)

Monday, June 18, 2012

Starting week 2!

Hey kids,

Sorry I haven't been around this weekend. Really busy with Father's day and all. Spent time with both of our families....it was really nice. Hope everyone had as nice of a time as we did.

Alright, gotta tell on myself... I did eat off the diet this weekend... I didn't go overboard, though. Everything was in very small (1/2 cup) portions. I didn't eat til I was stuffed either. I still made really good choices. Ate a lot of veggies (go me!), and stayed away from the deserts...which was hard when I was baking a cake for my Pops. It was a pink lemonade cake! From what I hear, it was to die for.... :-/

So now I'm back at it, full force. I'm feeling super under the weather today, though. I had a pack of granola with fat free milk and blueberries for breakfast. I also had a scrambled egg for my powerfuel. Protein shake (vanilla) once I got to work. For lunch I had a margarita pizza and a salad (trying to get in those veggies where I can!). I put 2 tablespoons of light Italian dressing on it...checked the guide, totally acceptable.

So weight watchers makes these cheese sticks (that are 1 point, for those of you doing that program). THEY ARE SO GOOD!!! Great smart carbs! They have these smokey flavored ones. OMG. Tony loves em too. If I was on weight watchers, I'd be tempted to eat those, one by one, for all my points in a day. Publix had them buy one get one free. I got one of the original and one smokey. I wish I had gotten 2 smokey packs.....

Friday, June 15, 2012

After the fallout

Hey y'all.

Yesterday was kinda a rough one. I had a major breakdown. I think my body was going into shock from the lack of sugar. I just felt soooo tired and unable to function. I was also really tempted to cheat on my diet. I didn't, though. I think it was tough because it was my off day and I didn't really have any obligations after the early morning. I literally cried for a good 30 mins on my honey's shoulder. I don't know what the hell was up with me.

I'm much better today! I thought in the beginning I was only gonna weigh once a week, but to see I weighed this morning...I'VE LOST 3 POUNDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hell yeah in 3 full days! Not. Too. Shabby. I gave myself a pat on the back for that one, for sure.

Anyways, I had the vegetable scrambler this morning for breakfast. Tony asked if I was eating cat food. It was not good. I ate it, because I had already made it. I don't think I'll be ordering that one again. Not my cup of tea. I kept thinking I could make it better with some salt and cheese....but if that were okay, I think Nutrisystem would have done that from the start.

Had one of the brownie sundaes for besert last night. It was great! Just what I needed to get over my sugar cravings.


I have another interview set up next Friday! It's like a lot of good is coming to me, and I like it! :)

Thursday, June 14, 2012

My first mess up

I was making breakfast this morning and decided to give the biscuit and gravy a try. Well, I must have been super tired when I read the instructions because instead of adding 4 teaspoons of water, I added 4 tablespoons to the biscuit mixture. Needless to say, it got dumped down the drain. Whoops!

I had another pack, and mixed it up correctly. It was pretty good! I really wanted to add salt to it, but I resisted. I had my second of 2 eggs for the week. It was a good breakfast!

I haven't had my protein shake yet , and I'm feeling it. My interview was at 9 am, and I ran out without it. I'm waiting at the gyno's office right now and I could fall over and sleep on this nasty floor.

My interview went really well! One step closer to getting out of hell. :)

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

End of the deuce day.

Well, we're closing out day 2. I feel tons better than I did at end of day one. Maybe there is something to this whole "healthy eating" thing. ;)

Got in my 8 servings of water, and I'll probably have another bottle before bed. I would kill for a big cup of taco casa sweet tea...

I had an orange for my smart carb. One of my personal favorite fruits. I had the chicken alfredo for dinner. Meh. Pretty bland. Probably my least favorite so far. For desert I had the red velvet whoopee pie. OMG! It was to die for! Insanely good.

I've gotta get in bed relatively early today...I have a job interview tomorrow! *fingers crossed*

Got to admit it's gettin better...

I'm feeling a lot better this afternoon than I was this morning. I actually have tons of energy! On my lunch break, I hyper-cleaned our place. My honey came home and was a little thrown off. haha!

I had my protein drink around 11am as opposed to with my breakfast meal. I think that made the difference. Plus my headache is gone! That might have something to do with my daily cup of coffee. Ahhhh, caffeine!

For lunch I had a margareta pizza. It was on point! So good, super filling. I also had a tablespoon of peanut butter as my powerfuel! Lily (our adorable pup) was excited. She always gets a little pb whenever it's out.

Now, I said I was gonna be totally and completely honest in this blog.... This is one of those times. Good lord I was constipated this morning! Geeze...is that normal from the food or was it the bad stuff from the weekend coming out? It was awful. Ughhhh. Well, at least it's out of me now.... haha :-/

On my 3rd bottle of water, took my vitamin (didn't bother me today, either!), making sure I put everything in my daily journal thing.

Had a talk with my honey about us both eating healthier. He's so supportive! We'll see how much so when the oreo's are gone. ;)

Friday we're going grocery shopping. I told him to be prepared for a fridge/pantry overhaul. I'd rather not have any junk in the house. Negate any kind of temptation. Bye bye chips, so long ice cream, catch ya later coke.

Small steps = big pay offs!

Day 2...the rest of the food arrives!

Well, woke up in a little of a funk this morning. It's also right around "that time," so I'm a little edgy.

I had a scrambled egg (no salt) as my power fuel this morning around 6:30. I just marked off my morning snack in its place. A few minutes ago, my box of frozen food arrived! Christmas part 2! :) I just had a breakfast burrito for my breakfast entree. It was de-lish! I've already got in 2 servings of water.

I'm out of my crystal light packets, damnit. I'll have to wait til Friday to head to the grocery store. Ya know... pay day.

I'm gonna take my protein shake with me to work. I think that will help me stay fuller during the day. I can't get going today for some reason. Ughhh. I hope it's just pms. I have been coughing a good bit the last few days. I literally can't afford to be sick.

I should mention that I am a migraine sufferer. It's such a curse. So days like today when I have a nagging headache, I try to wait it out as long as I can. If I took something every time my head ached, I'd be doped up all the time. I might have to take something today. This one is getting stronger by the hour.

Well, time to get going.

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

End of the first day.

Well, had some rice with chicken and sausage for dinner. It was also pretty tasty! Got in my 8 servings of water! I had one of those white chocolate chunk cookies for desert. It was pretty bland. It was the only thing that disappointed, and it was still edible.

I posted on the Nutrisystem Facebook about this blog. Someone on there said, "50 pounds is a lot." Yeah, no shit genius....but it has to come off. 50 pounds will put me at a weight a lot of people still consider fat. I'm not trying to be a supermodel, I'm not even trying to be a single digit size, necessarily. I just want to be HEALTHY AND HAPPY.

I want to be able to look back at my wedding pictures and not think, "shit, these would be so much better if I had stuck to my goals." I want to look back and say, "I did it. I made myself happy by making myself healthy."

So yeah, 50 pounds may be "a lot" but that's my goal...not yours.


One day at a time, one pound at a time, one inch at a time...this is MY 50 pound journey.

Debunking this whole thing...

Well, I had my lunch. It was a cheese tortalini thing....noodles filled with cheese in some tomato sauce. It was really good! I'm on my 3rd bottle of water. I'm having to pee like every 10 mins, though. Took my vitamin, and it actually didn't bother me as much as it usually does. I tend to get a metallic taste in my mouth when I take 'em. Glad I'm not dealing with that today!

I have actually felt a lot fuller than I expected. I think that protein shake really gave me the extra boost that I needed. I did have one cup of coffee today. With cream and a little sugar. Hey, I'm human...and trust me, when you work a dead end job like mine, you need that boost to keep you from banging your head against the cheeply constructed walls.

I'm reading through this "getting started" guide. Learning a lot about the program. They want you to try to get in 10 minutes of activity 3 times a day. Shouldn't be too tough. Sex is a listed activity. Hey hey! ;)

They want me to get at least 4 servings of veggies a day. Blahhh! I'm still a 6 year old at heart. I'm not terribly fond of those things. It's gonna be tough for me to get those in, honestly.

I got a phone call (recorded) from nutrisystem this morning. Apparently I've got another box of food coming with all the frozen stuff....that's interesting news since I already shoved a good portion of the meals in the freezer. Whoops! I mean, it seemed like stuff that needed to be frozen. I should probably at least move them to the fridge...I don't want to take them out completely....could spoil 'em. Mom would be pissed.

I'm being much more vocal about this diet as compared to others. I'm proud that I'm taking the steps to be a more healthy person! Also, the more people I'm being held accountable to, the less likely I see myself slipping. So hey world, I'm on a diet. Hold me accountable!

The box arrived!

Well, bright and early this morning, my big box of food showed up! It was like Christmas morning. ;) I cracked it open, and started digging through. I'm glad it came so early so I could start off with breakfast.

It came with a daily tracker and a getting started guide. It also came with a cool shaker thing for the protein shakes. I looked through everything to get a feel of what I was dealing with. I'll say this...the portions look a lot bigger on the website....but it's a diet so whatevs.

I flipped through the reading material and made myself a protein shake and grabbed one of the blueberry muffins for my breakfast. I've gotta say, both are quite delicious! I'm pretty satisfied, although it was REALLY tough not to grab a slice or 2 of the bacon on the counter for my honey's breakfast. But I didn't!!! Small steps, big payoffs.

I need to get a measuring tape. I have no idea what my measurements actually are. All I know is I want them to shrink!

I'm supposed to get in 8 servings of water....what's a serving of water, though? Let me google it real quick.... *googling* Alright it's 8 oz or 1 cup! Cool! One of my bottles is 16.9 oz. so 4 bottles will be 8.45 servings. Simple math for the win!

Well, time to put on my disgusting, unflattering uniform and head to my dead-end, shit-ass job! score....



Ya know....at one point in history it meant something to have a college education. Seriously.... I have a 100k education and can't even pay my student loans. Oh well. Just gotta keep my head up, up, UP!

Monday, June 11, 2012

And we're off!


Well, today I start my journey. No, the Nutrisystem food hasn't shown up, but I'm getting a jump on dieting. Yogurt for breakfast, yogurt for lunch, light dinner. I'm trying to get going on the right track here.

We did indulge this weekend. Had mcdonalds on Saturday and papa johns on Sunday. I mean..... I felt the need. ;)

I'll be attempting to drink a gallon of water everyday, but we'll see.  I've got some of those Crystal Light packets for my water, too. I'm drinking the cran-cherry lime one now and it's SO good. Only 5 calories. Score.

I will be taking a multivitamin everyday, even though they drive me nuts. Something about 'em....blahh.

I'm dreadfully tired today. Gonna try to get in some kind of workout tonight. I've got one of those Tony Little Gazele things...don't worry, I didn't fall for the infomercial. A family member did, and she passed it on. It's not too bad. It's something, at least.

I stepped on the dreaded scale today....and the batteries were dying. Something about that...the day I start my diet and the damn thing loses steam... cracks me up. Alright, back to work.

Did I mention I hate my job?

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Every journey has a beginning...

Well, here I go.  Another attempt at getting the weight off. This time, I'm going to hold myself accountable by staying up on this blog. I want to generate some readers, so y'all can cheer me on.  Let me tell you a little about myself.

April 2011 I  was a senior at the University of Alabama. I was livin' the dream, so to speak.  Had just started an amazing relationship with the man of my dreams, making stellar grades, had a pretty good job, tons of friends, the best dog ever, and had just lost right at 70 pounds. Life was as close to perfect as it was gonna get!

Then comes April 27th.

My home (and city) was torn apart by an f5 tornado. I lost just about everything I owned. We were only seconds from having our lives taken from us.  If you google anything in Tuscaloosa from that day, you'll get an idea of what happened. We were in Cedar Crest neighborhood, which is now a field. Maybe one day I'll type the entire story in here, but for right now, I'd rather save myself the tears.

Well, it turns out it's pretty tough to face your own mortality at age 23.

My life entered total chaos, and I wasn't aware for quite some time. See, everyone tip-toes around tornado victims. By the way, I hate that term, "tornado victim." I'm a survivor, damnit. Get it right.

Anyways, I had and/or still have a pretty awful case of PTSD. I know it's been over a year since it happened, but until you are huddled on your knees in a bathtub, shaking puppy beneath you, love of your life laying on top of you, asking for forgivness of your sins, all the while your home imploding around you...don't judge me. Thanks. :) With the PTSD comes a lot of mental and physical challenges. At least for me, it did. Low and behold, I've put back on about 30 pounds. And I'm sick of it! My original goal was to lose a total of 100 pounds, which would put me at a healthy weight for my body type. I don't want to be a stick, I just want to be a size 9/10 on my wedding day (which, I don't even have a ring on my finger yet, so it's a lofty goal :) )

I tried weight watchers, and for me it was just too easy to ignore that program, truth be told. So, I'm going to do the Nutrisystem program! With the financial support of my parents (thanks, ma!), and the physical support from my honey, I'm super confident this time it's gonna work!

I placed my order yesterday. Lots of yummy (looking) meal options are on their way to my doorstep! So, this weekend is my last of freedom...but ya know, this time something in me seems different. Something in me is ready. Something in me is going to get this weight off.

So welcome to the journey. I'm glad to have you here with me. I'm gonna be honest about every step of my journey. I'll let you know how the food tastes, and I'm a picky eater so I'm gonna be honest. Give me feedback, let me know about your stories, I'm gonna need the motivation!

So, here we go. This time, I'm gonna keep the weight off...damnit.